Starlight: The New Prophecy Book 4

273512 22635881Title: Starlight

Series: Warriors

Author: Erin Hunter

Published: April 4, 2006 by HarperCollins

Purchased: Years ago, $7.99 on Kindle.

☆☆☆☆/5

*Warning: This review will contain spoilers*

Blurb: Before there is peace, blood will spill blood…

The Clans have finally arrived in their new home, following the prophecies of their warrior ancestors. The journey was difficult enough, but now they must struggle to establish territories and learn the hidden dangers of this unfamiliar world. Most importantly, Leafpaw knows they must find a replacement for the Moonstone – a place to communicate with StarClan. Otherwise there will be no way to choose new leaders, no way to share medicine cat secrets, and no way to know whether the Clans are on the right path.

The future seems uncertain, and more than one cat is harboring sinister plans that could lead to violence and darkness. As all the warriors wait for a sign, some of them begin to realize that the threats they face in the forest may not be as perilous as the threats they face from within.

Review: The last bit of journey for the gang and I’m so glad that it does not take up half the book. Also, the thing with Leafpool and Crowfeather just kind of feels like it was just put in there for shock value.

I know Bluefur and Oakheart hardly spent any time together but I don’t really think they said their I love you’s so quickly, at least not from what I can remember.

Another missed opportunity with the new cover of this book. I know the cats are the focus but they could have done something instead of those uncomfortable close-ups of the cats.

I thought that I had gotten to like Squirrelflight because she had grown up but then the old, impulsive cat returned and she and Brambleclaw fall out over her baseless mistrust over Hawkfrost. I know that it’s not actually misplaced but the way she goes about it could have been handled differently.

The story isn’t overly emotional but the writing did keep me reading and I figure if I didn’t have to go to class, I would have finished it the same day I started it.

The pace is excellent, the fighting is tense and well written and now that they have everything they need, no more journeys.

Thank you for reading my review.

2A3DB1596BA426719D8F40BDD154628C

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

