The 5

31291094

Name: The 5

Author: Richard Freeland

Published: July 10, 2016 by Pronoun

Purchased: Received free from the author in exchange for an honest review, $2.99 on Kindle.

☆☆☆☆/5

Blurb: Gone without a trace, between 2011 and 2014, five young girls living within a 40 mile radius of Sutton, Tennessee, disappeared. They were never seen again. Until now. Sarah Nordstrom has returned. With an anguished request for twelve year old Ben Hilary; “Find Me…” These words will send Ben on a terrifying quest to uncover the truth about what really happened to five lost girls. A journey that will cause him to question everything he believes in. And everyone he trusts. Trust no one, because there’s someone in the shadows. Watching Ben’s progress. Someone who has everything to lose. Someone who will kill to make sure that the past remains buried.

Review: Right off the bat, the beginning got me, I was excited about this book and what would happen…It wasn’t what I expected and I have to say that I was just a little tiny bit disappointed.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed this book but the pace was pretty slow, though when I did start getting bored, the creep would start. The plot really didn’t get going until a little more than halfway into the book and then it would get slow in places but when it did get creepy, I had chills.

The suspect wasn’t obvious at all and I was surprised at finding out who I thought it was wasn’t it. I do kind of wish there had been more strange or suspicious behavior from the other characters, something to give the readers more of a mystery sense, something to engage them.

While the plot was slow to get going, the writing was very well done, sometimes a little too descriptive but I’d rather have that than no description and the cover gives off a bit of a creepy vibe.

I would recommend this book for teens and adults who love a mystery with a bit of the paranormal.

Thank you for reading my review.

2a3db1596ba426719d8f40bdd154628c

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

