The Angel Experiment: Maximum Ride Book 1

552886

Name: The Angel Experiment

Author: James Patterson

Published: April 11, 2005 by Warner Vision

Purchased: 2014 at 2nd & Charles, $7.99 on Kindle.

☆☆☆☆☆/5

Another book that I’ve read before but, unlike most of the others, this one never gets old.

Now, looking at the reviews on goodreads, they’re pretty mixed, some hating the book and some loving them. I guess because I grew up with the book, I’m one of the people who love the way it’s written because I was a teenager when I first read it so the way Max spoke, I could relate to it.

I’ve read this book when I was a teen, just last year and now I just finished it the other day and I’m still hooked on it.

It’s written very simply, like a sassy fourteen year old girl wrote it and usually that doesn’t work out very well, mainly because of petty high school drama but this isn’t the case. In my opinion, it works very well for this book. Despite having a rough life and having to take care of three kids, she’s still a sarcastic, sassy teen, at least in her mind.

I also really liked that instead of just a story about the characters, the readers are actually inside Max’s mind, she’s telling the audience her story.

Two things that I didn’t really like, though it wasn’t enough to make me take away a star. The way the chapters are set are way too close together, every other page you get a new chapter.

Also, there’s a kiss in there that I felt like didn’t really belong. There was nothing leading up to it, no romance, no romantic feelings, no romantic connection between the characters that I could feel and it just felt unnecessary.

Other than that, it was a great action read. I can’t remember where I read it but the author said that he wrote these books so that kids and adults both could enjoy them and I think that he has succeeded.

Thank you for reading my review.

-Sam

One thought on “The Angel Experiment: Maximum Ride Book 1

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

