The Gatekeeper’s Sons: The Gatekeeper’s Saga Book 1

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00023]

Name: The Gatekeeper’s Sons

Author: Eva Pohler

Published: August 16, 2012 by Green Press

Purchased: July 28, 2015, free Gods and Mortals box set and individually on Kindle.

☆/5

I got to Chapter 17, saw I had 27 more chapters to go and I just couldn’t do it anymore. It had such great potential, I was excited about reading it but I was so disappointed.

Again, I had to make notes before I stopped reading.

No justification for why she feels like Than is laughing at her and mocking her. He’s smiling at her and she feels like he laughing at her. Why? What about his body language suggests that? How is he smiling at her?

No detail about how Than is standing or any kind of smirk or anything but she knows he’s arrogant and self-assured.

“He really seemed to like her” was a sentence in there even though there was no evidence, none what so ever, except that he looked her in the eye and his smugness was gone. No evidence of emotion in the eyes or mention of body language

As you can see, my notes all consist of one thing. Can you guess what it is? That’s right, it’s…body language

Ursula_-_Best_quotes_GIFs_-_1

Listen to Ursula, body language is important, it’s a big connecter between the characters, an arrogant or condescending smirk can go a long way, or eyes being downcast or shifting away slightly to indicate shyness or deceit. Hunched shoulders, hard eyes, give your readers something!

Also, it wasn’t day-by-day, it was more minute-by-minute, hour-by-hour so it was just tedious and on-going, taking a long time to get to the point.

The writing was just so simple as well, I felt like someone was reading a children’s book to me. Reading a review on goodreads, Carmen used a line I think is perfect for this book. She said it’s like a romance novel with training wheels on.

I would probably recommend this to a younger audience, not young adults but pre-teens and early teens.

Again, this was in the Gods and Mortals free box set, the only reason I bring that up is because the next book after this one is Nolander, which I’ve already read and reviewed.

Thank you for reading my review.

-Sam

One thought on “The Gatekeeper’s Sons: The Gatekeeper’s Saga Book 1

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

