Sympathy for the Devil

20550557

Name: Sympathy for the Devil

Author: Christine Pope

Published: January 5, 2014 by Dark Valentine Press

Purchased: July 28, 2015, free Gods and Mortals box set, $4.99 individually on Kindle.

☆☆/5

Another story that could have been great and I did like it, don’t get me wrong but this could have been so much better.

The way that it’s written just kind of threw me off a bit, I don’t recall any other books I’ve read being written like this and I’m not really sure how I feel about it. Not even the other book I’ve read by her didn’t read like this, Darkangel. It felt like Christa, the main character, was sitting across from me telling me her life story. I get enough of that from customers where I work, I don’t need a book doing the same thing.

Because of that, I couldn’t really connect to the characters because instead of getting to actually know the characters, getting inside their head, I feel like someone is just telling me a regular story about their own life.

This is a story about the Devil having to fall in love with a human, and being loved in return {almost like Beauty and the Beast}, so he can get back to Heaven and this probably could have had a lot of action, just think of all the possibilities with this story line, but none of it happened.

There could have been a lot action and suspense to make it more exciting but no, it’s full of small talk, descriptions of clothes and traffic. Even when she runs into an old flame, there could have been a lovely fight or something but no, it’s a couple of pages of small talk.

I liked it enough to finish it but besides trying to impress her, there’s really nothing very paranormal or terribly exciting in this book, it could pass for just a regular romance if you overlook God, the Devil, and two other demons.

Thank you for reading my review.

-Sam

One thought on “Sympathy for the Devil

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

