Rae of Hope: The Chronicles of Kerrigan Book 1

redonewbest2

Name: Rae of Hope

Author: W. J. May

Published: February 14, 2014 by Dark Shadows Publishing

Purchased: June 15, 2015, free Enchanted box set on Kindle.

☆☆☆☆☆/5

One of the youth novels that really did impress me. The teen drama would only rear its head every now and again, it wasn’t the main focus and even Rae didn’t let her feelings for the guy distract her from getting down to business and getting answers.

It was intriguing and kept me guessing. There was no predictability whatsoever, except for the love interest and I didn’t know how it would really turn out.

Even when I would get distracted by something else and set it down, I couldn’t get it out of my head. I’d still be thinking about why did this person do this? Will they do this? What about this, how did this happen? This book will answer questions but give you more to make you go on to the next book.

The descriptions were written so well that I could see everything like I was watching a movie but, they were also simple enough that they didn’t take up the whole page.

It taps into your emotions as well, making the reader happy, angry and sad. I almost cried at one part because it was so touching and heart breaking.

I feel like this is how a youth novel should be written. A teenager thrown into an abnormal situation that she knows nothing about and proceeds to ask questions and find answers while dealing with her feelings for the hot guy. She doesn’t make him the center of her universe though and doesn’t break down when things get rough.

The only thing about it though is that there are a few typos here and there that would distract me and toss me out of that world but, it’s not enough to make me take away a star. Give this book a chance and I can promise that you will not be disappointed.

Thank you for reading my review.

-Sam

One thought on “Rae of Hope: The Chronicles of Kerrigan Book 1

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

