The Druid Series Books 1-3

the-druid-series-1-reapers-by-marata-eros

Title: Reapers

Author: Marata Eros

Published: September 10, 2011 by Marata Eros

Purchased: February 17, 2015, free, now $0.99 on Kindle, The Druid Series 1-3.

☆☆☆☆/5

Blurb: The vampires are a dying race, their females sterile. When it’s discovered that human females of Druid ancestry can be viable breeders… the harvest begins.

Rachel Collins is a young woman living in the frozen north of Alaska in a dead-end job with a circular life. She yearns for something more.

When murders begin taking place in the city where she lives, she and her girlfriend try to be more cautious, only to be caught in the middle of a dangerous situation in which an unlikely savior emerges.

Can Rachel escape her destiny while two different factions hunt her?

056d36b742f24d915648ddde6df519c06548e57e

Title: Bled

Author: Marata Eros

Published: November 25, 2011 by Marata Eros

☆☆☆☆☆/5

Blurb: When Rachel is taken by Zach of the rogue she is determined to resist him. But her unique Druid biology controls her and she slips perilously close to succumbing.

Cole searches for the one Druid that can make his life complete. While his comrade Nathan, in a heroic maneuver to help him, suffers at the hands of their sadistic ruler, Alexander.

While searching for Cole, Nathan discovers another Druid in the wrong place at the wrong time. Could she be the catalyst that brings two enemies together?

Is Holly more than she seems?

the-druid-series-3-harvest-by-marata-eros

Title: Harvest

Author: Marata Eros

Published: January 5, 2012 by Marata Eros

☆☆☆/5

Blurb: Rachel and Holly escape from Alexander’s clutches only to fall into the hands of his Reapers.

Can Cole and Zach save their chosen before they are claimed by another?

Will the Druid women fulfill their destiny to change the race of vampire forever?

Review: The reason that I’m lumping these together in their own post is because they are novellas. I finished the first one yesterday and the next two today. That’s why they are together, because they are short novels. Another reason they’re together is because that’s how I read them. The last time I read a little box set, I loved the books so much that they all got the same stars. These received different stars from me.

Reapers: This was way more interesting than I thought it would be; especially for a novella.

The author does put a warning to read before downloading the little box set but, it just says “this [fictional] book is dark paranormal romance and deals with serious and disturbing themes including extreme violence and murder,” which is all fine and dandy in my book. It’s fiction, they can do whatever they want and it has no effect on the real world unless that is someone’s trigger, in which I’m grateful for the warning however, she failed to put something else into her warning. This is my own little warning that I’m going to add on. This book has some pretty graphic scenes of violation and rape. If you choose to read this book, imagine a big flashing caution sign in your head.

That being said, I find myself really interested in this series and the reason I took off a star for this book is because of the graphic rape scenes. This is another book that is very much not for everyone but, I think it’s a good quick little fiction series. I felt like the length of it was perfect and it did a really nice job of setting up for the next book. The plot was interesting and kept me up for a bit wanting to know more. Hopefully the next book has less rape and more bonding with the main character and love interest.

Bled: Another hit out of the ball park for me. I usually don’t like novellas, they’re just too short for my taste and everything seems rushed. Not so in this case.

I do have to give another warning on this one, though it’s not as big. There’s one quick scene of rape but a lot of violation so, again, be careful picking this series up.

For a novella, I’m surprised at how much information I’m getting about the characters. It doesn’t feel rushed or like it was just slapped together and published as a rough draft. I always thought that I wouldn’t be able to connect to the characters in a novella but, it’s written so well that I’m having no trouble at all. I’m not feeling the love in this series, it’s more like a case of Stockholm Syndrome. Maybe I’ll learn a bit more in the next book and it’ll start to feel like a love interest?

Harvest: Not as great as the others. This one isn’t making me feel the need to go on with the others in the series. In fact, I could say that it could end right here.

Another warning with this one, just as big as the first book. The girls are subjected to some sort of dream gang rape but, at the end it’s consent for everyone.

To me, there’s still no love here, it’s just the Druid blood that’s making everyone happy. This one did feel rushed, even though there are many more books after this one. Then all of a sudden there’s this prophecy that we’ve never heard of? It just seems like it’s trying too hard to be interesting now. It felt like it was overflowing and was a little overwhelming.

Be careful when picking this series up, it’s definitely not for everyone but, it is a quick little series.

Thank you for reading my reviews.

2A3DB1596BA426719D8F40BDD154628C

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

